Episode XLIV: Divina Commedia Sonica

by zabranowicz

Sonic Landscapes Ep. XLIV: Divina Commedia Sonica

(Right click on link above to download / Click on link to listen streaming)

This week, Sonic Landscapes appropriates the structure and content of Dante Alighieri’s incredible work of epic poetry, the Divina Commedia, to construct a 3-part, 100 minute mix unlike anything we’ve done before. Here, the DJ plays the part of Virgil, guiding listeners through the various horrors of the multi-tiered Inferno, then into the spiritual stagnation of Purgatorio and, finally, to the celestial harmony of Paradisio.

Each part of the Divina Commedia takes approximately 33 minutes, corresponding to the 33 cantos that form each structural component of the poem. Let’s begin!

The Playlist:


1. Mea Culpa – Brian Eno & David Byrne

2. The Raven – Aural Sects

3. Still Born – Scratcha DVA

4. Goto 10 – Amon Tobin

5. Blood Rave – Artist Unknown

6. Sea Quake – Drexciya


7. J Breas – Moby

8. Vacuum Garden – Squarepusher

9. Studio Suicide, 1980 – Tim Hecker

10. Execution – Andy Scott

11. Weathered Stone – Aphex Twin

12. Vampire Dub – Deadbeat


13. Movement III: Linear Tableau With Intersecting Surprise – Sufjan Stevens

14. One Too Many Mornings – The Chemical Brothers

15. Satellite Anthem Icarus – Boards of Canada

16. Little Fluffy Clouds – The Orb

17. Gó›an Daginn – Sigur Rós

18. Radioland – Kraftwerk

Nel mezzo del cammin di nostra vita…